india vs australia 1st odi who will win sportstiger

Match Details

Date: 17 March 2023

Time: 1:30 PM IST

Venue: Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai

Live Scores: SportsTiger App


After a thrilling four-match Test series, India and Australia will take on each other in three ODIs, the first of which will be played on 17 March at the iconic Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai. The two teams have already reached the venue city and have started their practice. With the ODI World Coup around the corner, both India and Australia are looking for solid preparation and this series will provide exactly that. 

Talking about the squads of India and Australia, both teams will be without their regular captains in the first game. While India captain Rohit Sharma will be missing the first ODI due to personal reasons, Pat Cummins too will be missing the entire series as his mother passed away a few days back. Hardik Pandya will be at the helm of affairs for India while Steve Smith will be leading the Kangaroos. 

Both teams have selected a strong squad but it is to be seen if they can make the most of it. 

Pitch Report 

The pitch at Wankhede Stadium is known for its true bounce. The pitch is a real test for both the batters and the bowlers. While batters can exploit the shorter boundaries, bowlers can make use of the pace, turn and bounce on offer. 

SportsTiger Playing XIs

India: Ishan Kishan (wk), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, KL Rahul, Hardik Pandya (c), Ravindra Jadeja, Washington Sundar, Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj, Kuldeep Yadav

Australia: David Warner, Travis Head, Marnus Labuschagne, Steve Smith, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Cameron Green, Alex Carey, Ashton Agar, Adam Zampa, Mitchell Starc

Match Prediction

eng v nz


India have been a force to reckon with at home in any format of the game and the wins they got at the start of the year will only add to their confidence. Meanwhile, Australia may just fall short. 

Disclaimer: The opinions expressed within this article are the author’s point of view. They neither reflect the opinion of SportsTiger nor advise anyone to make any prediction based on this. SportsTiger does not assume any responsibility and liability for the same.