RR defeated CSK by a small margin of three runs with the help of a brilliant all-around performance from Ravichandran Ashwin in the game. RR posted 175/8 on board in the first innings with the help of fifty from Jos Buttler and thirty-plus scores from Padikkal, Ashwin, and Hetmyer. Akash Singh, Tushar Deshpande, and Ravindra Jadeja picked two wickets with the ball each. Devon Conway smashed fifty at the top, and Ajinkya Rahane scored a quick-fire 31 for CSK.

CSK's middle-order batters failed as Dube, Ali, and Rayudu scored in single digits. Despite their failure, CSK almost managed to chase down 176 runs with the help of fireworks from Jadeja and Dhoni in the last two overs. Sandeep Sharma defended seven runs off three balls against the Dhoni-Jadeja duo after conceding two back-to-back sixes to MS Dhoni.

Numbers and Stats from CSK vs RR game:

2 -
Only for the second time RR has won an IPL game against CSK at the Chepauk Stadium in Chennai. The first victory for them was way back in the 2008 IPL edition.

2 - For the second consecutive time, Ravichandran Ashwin has won the Man of the Match award against CSK in the IPL.

Ravichandran Ashwin's last two MoM awards in the IPL:
40*(23) & 1/28 vs CSK in Mumbai-BS, 2022
30(22) & 2/25 vs CSK in Chennai, 2023

3 - RR have beaten CSK by just three runs.

The smallest margin of win for RR in the IPL:
by 2 runs vs MI in Durban, 2009
by 2 runs vs Dec in Nagpur, 2010
by 2 runs vs PBKS in Dubai, 2021
by 3 runs vs LSG in Mumbai-WS, 2022
by 3 runs vs CSK in Chennai, 2023

5 -
RR have won five out of the six IPL games against CSK since 2020.

RR vs CSK in IPL since 2020:
RR won by 16 runs in Sharjah (2020)
RR won by 7 wickets in Abu Dhabi (2020)
CSK won by 45 runs in Mumbai (2021)
RR won by 7 wickets in Abu Dhabi (2021)
RR won by 5 wickets in Mumbai-BS (2022)
RR won by 3 runs in Chennai (2023)

8 -
Sanju Samson has recorded the most ducks (8) for RR in the IPL overall.

23 - MS Dhoni has smashed 23 sixes against RR in IPL overall.

Most sixes vs RR in the IPL:
Chris Gayle - 31
Yuvraj Singh - 28
AB de Villiers / Rohit Sharma - 24
Dinesh Karthik / David Miller / MS Dhoni - 23 

85 -
Jos Buttler completed 3000 IPL runs from just 85 innings.

Fastest to reach 3000 runs in the IPL by innings batted:
Chris Gayle - 75
KL Rahul - 80
Jos Buttler - 85

200 - Ravindra Jadeja completed the milestone of picking 200 wickets in T20 cricket.