Credit: X

Credit: X

English Football Association has announced their provisional squad for the pre-Euro 2024 training camp. After their international friendlies, England's manager Gareth Southgate will select 26 players who will compete in the  Euro 2024, slated to begin on June 15 in Germany. 

England is yet to be crowned as the champions of the European Championship with their best shot coming four years ago when they ended up as the runners-up to Italy at Wembley. Apart from that, they won the World Cup also just once in 1966 despite possessing some serious players in their ranks. 

England is clubbed in Group C alongside Serbia, Denmark, and Slovenia. They will start their campaign against Serbia on June 16 followed by an intriguing clash against Denmark four days later. They will conclude their league stage against Slovenia on June 25. They will play friendly games against Bosnia and Herzegovina on June 3 and Iceland on June 7 at Wembley. 

Rashford, Sterling out; Ivan Toney makes the cut

Gareth Southgate has gone with some peculiar in his 33-man squad leaving out two of the most veteran players in their ranks Marcus Rashford and Raheem Sterling. However, their ongoing form was subjected to severe criticism and they got some eventual results. In another odd choice, Southgate has opted for Ivan Toney ahead of Dominic Solanke as the 28-year-old has been appointed as the third choice to Harry Kane and Ollie Watkins. 

England provisional squad for Euro 2024

Goalkeeper: Dean Henderson, Jordan Pickford, Aaron Ramsdale, James Trafford

Defenders: Jarrad Branthwaite, Lewis Dunk, Joe Gomez, Marc Guehi, Ezri Konsa, Harry Maguire, Jarell Quansah, Luke Shaw, John Stones, Kieran Trippier, Kyle Walker

Midfielders: Trent Alexander Arnold, Conor Gallagher, Curtis Jones, Kobbie Mainoo, Declan Rice, Adam Wharton 

Forwards: Jude Bellingham, Jarrod Bowen, Eberechi Eze, Phil Foden, Anthony Gordon, Jack Grealish, Harry Kane, James Maddison, Cole Palmer, Bukayo Saka, Ivan Toney, Ollie Watkins