Picture Credit: Twitter/@englandcricket

Picture Credit: Twitter/@englandcricket

Limited-overs England captain Eoin Morgan will resume his leadership role when the Three Lions host Pakistan in the T20I series. The southpaw is one of the nine players who have been named in the T20I squad after completing the mandatory self-isolation post the ODI series against Sri Lanka. Notably, three players and four support staff members from the England team had tested positive for COVID-19 days before the start of the ODIs against a visiting Men in Green. This had forced the England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) to announce a fresh squad with Ben Stokes as the captain.

However, all the members of that squad from the Sri Lanka series have returned negative COVID-19 tests and are clear to take part in this series. Paul Collingwood has been named the head coach of the team for this series with Chris Silverwood opting for a break. The three-match T20I series is set to begin on July 16 at Trent Bridge after England registered a 3-0 clean sweep against Pakistan in the ODIs.

We have rewarded some of the players involved in the 50-over series: Silverwood

"The ODI series success against Pakistan showcased the exciting depth of talent we have developed in men’s white-ball cricket. We have selected a T20 squad that sees the return of many of our most experienced players after their period of isolation," Silverwood was quoted as saying in an official release.

"Additionally, we have rewarded some of the players involved in the 50-over series win with selection which allows us to manage multi-format players as we prepare for the much-anticipated Test series against India," he added also thanking Ben Stokes and the team for their efforts over the course of the last week.

England squad for T20I series against Pakistan:

Eoin Morgan (c), Jason Roy, Tom Banton, Jos Buttler, Dawid Malan, Jonny Bairstow, Liam Livingstone, Lewis Gregory, Moeen Ali, Matt Parkinson, Adil Rashid, David Willey, Chris Jordan, Tom Curran, Saqib Mahmood, Jake Ball

ENG vs PAK T20I Series

1st T20I: England v Pakistan, Friday 16 July 2021, Trent Bridge, Nottingham

2nd T20I: England v Pakistan, Sunday 18 July 2021, Emerald Headingley, Leeds

3rd T20I: England v Pakistan, Tuesday 20 July 2021, Emirates Old Trafford, Manchester