Picture Credit: Twitter

Picture Credit: Twitter

On the road to the much-awaited ICC ODI World Cup 2023, out of the 32 teams in contention for a place in the marquee event, the battle has now begun for the top two after the Super Six teams qualified from the ongoing ICC World Cup Qualifiers in Zimbabwe.


In the ongoing ICC Cricket World Cup Qualifiers 2023 which are underway in Zimbabwe, Sri Lanka, Scotland, Oman along with Zimbabwe, Netherlands and West Indies have sealed a place in the Super Six stage and will now lock horns for the final two berth up for grabs for the quadrennial event.


How did we get these Super Six teams from the Qualifier?


Earlier, ten teams were split into two groups, consisting of five teams each. While Group A included Nepal, Netherlands, USA, West Indies and Zimbabwe, Group B consists of Ireland, Oman Scotland, Sri Lanka and UAE. Each side played four group matches each in a round-robin format. While the winner was awarded two points, ties and no-results fetched a point each.


After the completion of the 20-group-stage matches, the top three sides progressed to the Super Six stage.


How does the Super Six stage works?


Now, as we have the Super Six teams for the ICC World Cup Qualifier, how will the things move on from here. Each team in the Super Six will face the three qualifying teams from the opposite group. Notably,  the teams will be carrying over the points from their respective group stage opponents, who have also qualified alongside them.  

Thereafter, the top two teams on the table in the Super Six will qualify for the ICC ODI World Cup 2023, scheduled to take place in India in October-November window.


Additionally, the top two teams from each group, who have however sealed a place in the ODI World Cup 2023, will also play a final with the winner taking the trophy.


What is new this time in Super Six stage?


After earlier announcing that the third umpires will be in presence to monitor runouts, the International Cricket Council (ICC) has confirmed that DRS will be in use, starting from the Super Six stage for the first-time during World Cup Qualifiers.


Hosts India, Afghanistan, Australia, Bangladesh, England, New Zealand, Pakistan and South Africa have already qualified for the 50-over tournament, the top teams from the six mentioned above will fight for two places for the upcoming event.