The International Cricket Council (ICC) on Tuesday announced the Men’s Test Team of the Year. England’s Ben Stokes was named the captain of the side while players from Australia, India, West Indies, and South Africa also made the cut. Surprisingly, there was no player from the reigning World Champions New Zealand. Australia had the most number of players (four) in the playing XI. England was second on the list in terms of most players in the Team of the Year.

As many as three players from England have been included in the Men’s Test Team of the Year. Apart from Ben Stokes, Jonny Bairstow and James Anderson also made it to the XI. From Australia, captain Pat Cummins, Nathan Lyon, Usman Khawaja, and Marnus Labuschagne found a place each. 

Meanwhile, the only Indian in the Men’s Test Team of the Year is Rishabh Pant. The wicketkeeper batter was included in the XI owing to his brilliant performances for India. Pant scored 680 runs from 12 innings at an average of 61.81 and a strike rate of 90.90 with the help of two centuries and four fifties. He also affected six stumpings and took 23 catches.

The other players to find a spot in the Men’s Test Team of the Year are Babar Azam (Pakistan), Kraigg Brathwaite (West Indies), and Kagiso Rabada (South Africa). 

Men’s Test Team of the Year (2022): Usman Khawaja, Kraigg Brathwaite, Marnus Labuschagne, Babar Azam, Jonny Bairstow, Ben Stokes (c ) , Rishabh Pant (wk), Pat Cummins, Kagiso Rabada, Nathan Lyon, James Anderson

Earlier on Tuesday, ICC also announced the Men's ODI Team of the Year. Pakistan's Babar Azam was named the captain of the side. The global governing body also named the Men's T20I Team of the Year on Monday. World Cup-winning captain Jos Buttler was chosen to lead the side.

Check the Men's ODI and T20I Team of the Year