New Zealand vs India 1st T20I - Who will win T20 match between India and New Zealand?

New Zealand will be playing at their home and also have a settled unit as compared to India.

Ritesh PathakAuthor

Updated - 16 November 2022 03:39 PM


Match Details

Date: 18 November 2022
Time: 12:00 PM IST
Venue: Sky Stadium, Wellington
Ball-by-ball commentary: SportsTiger App


After heartbreaks for both New Zealand and India at the T20 World Cup 2022, it’s time for both teams to work on the issues in bilateral series and build a team for the next World Cup. Both India and New Zealand made it to the semifinals but could not hold on to big moments and saw the way out. Nevertheless, the focus now shifts to the first T20I bilateral series for both teams. While India have sent their young guns to take on New Zealand, the Kane Williamson-led team will also be without Martin Guptill and Trent Boult. 

Pitch Report

The pitch at Sky Stadium is a drop-in pitch which means it will aid batters. The ball will come onto the bat nicely and batters will be able to hit through the line. However, with rain threat and overcast conditions, some swing will be on offer in the early part of both innings. 

Team Analysis


Team India will be without quite a few main players but that does not mean they will be a weak unit. Hardik Pandya is there to rally the troop with the likes of Suryakumar Yadav and Rishabh Pant by his side. Shreyas Iyer, Ishan Kishan, Sanju Samson, Harshal Patel, Arshdeep Singh, Mohammed Siraj, and Yuzvendra Chahal have also been included in the T20I squad. It will be interesting to see who opens the batting for India with neither KL Rahul nor Rohit Sharma around. Shubman Gill with Kishan looks like a possibility while Iyer will be expected to fill the vacant No.3 position with no Virat Kohli. 

Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant, and Hardik Pandya are expected to complete the batting order with Washington Sudar and Harshal Patel providing the depth. Chahal will be the lead spinner while Bhuvneshwar will lead the pace attack. 

SportsTiger Playing XI of India

Shubman Gill, Ishan Kishan, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant (wk), Hardik Pandya, Washington Sundar, Harshal Patel, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Arshdeep Singh, Yuzvendra Chahal

New Zealand

New Zealand has retained most of the players who played at the T20 World Cup 2022. Finn Allen and Devon Conway will open the innings with Kane Williamson coming down at No.3. Daryl Mitchell and Glenn Phillips will bat at 4 and 5 according to the match situation. Jimmy Neesham will be trusted with the finishing job while Mitchell Santner will take up his usual spot i.e. No.7. Lockie Ferguson and Tim Southee will be the pacers in the New Zealand lineup with no Trent Boult around. Meanwhile, Ish Sodhi might get a go-ahead before Bracewell considering the leg-spin option he provides. Adam Milne will be the preferred choice for the third seamer. 

The focus from New Zealand will be on reworking their batting strategy as Kane Williamson’s slow approach at the showpiece event was questioned. Bowling in the powerplays will also be a concern as NZ failed to take any wickets against Pakistan in the first six overs. 

SportsTiger Playing XI of New Zealand

Finn Allen, Devon Conway (wk), Kane Williamson, Glenn Phillips, Daryl Mitchell, Jimmy Neesham, Mitchell Santner, Tim Southee, Ish Sodhi, Lockie Ferguson, Adam Milne

Match Prediction



New Zealand will be playing at their home and also have a settled unit as compared to India. Thus, they will be the favourites to win the first T20I. 

Disclaimer: The opinions expressed within this article are the author’s point of view. They neither reflect the opinion of SportsTiger nor advise anyone to make any prediction based on this. SportsTiger does not assume any responsibility and liability for the same.


Join our Family Today!