Indian Premier League (IPL) franchise Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) on Thursday announced their captain for the sixteenth edition of the tournament. SRH have announced Aiden Markram as their new captain for IPL 2023. As Markram led Sunrisers Eastern Cape to their maiden title in the inaugural edition of the SA20 league, the South African has been chosen as the leader for SRH as well.

Notably, the captain’s seat was vacant after Kane Williamson was released by SRH ahead of IPL 2023 Auction. 

Talking about Markram's captaincy, the South African impressed the stakeholders with his leadership skills in the inaugural edition of the SA20 league. Markram successfully led SEC from the front. The all-rounder scored 366 runs in 12 matches and also scalped 11 wickets at an average of 14.64. 

Now, the SRH management will hope to turn things around with a fresh face at the helm of affairs. SRH spent a lot at the IPL 2023 Auction bagging Harry Brook for 13.25 CR.  SRH also roped in Mayank Agarwal for 8.25 CR.  The management made a flurry of purchases in the latter phase of the auction when uncapped players were brought to the table. The likes of Vivrant Sharma, Samarth Vyas, and Sanvir Singh found a home in Hyderabad.

SRH IPL 2023 Squad: Abdul Samad, Abhishek Sharma, Aiden Markram*, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Fazalhaq Farooqi*, Glenn Phillips*, Kartik Tyagi, Marco Jansen*, Rahul Tripathi, T. Natarajan, Umran Malik, Washington Sundar, Harry Brook, Mayank Agarwal, Heinrich Klaasen, Adil Rashid, Mayank Markande, Vivrant Sharma, Samarth Vyas, Sanvir Singh,  Upendera Yadav, Mayank Dagar, Nitish Kumar Reddy, Anmolpreet Singh, Akeal Hosein