Credit: X

Credit: X

Match Details

Date: May 22, 2024

Time: 7:30 PM IST

Venue: MA Chidambaram Stadium, Chennai

Live ball-by-ball commentary: SportsTiger

Match Preview:

The Sunrisers Hyderabad and Rajasthan Royals will lock horns in Qualifier 2 of IPL 2024 to reach the final and take on Kolkata Knight Riders. Both teams have played some incredible cricket through the 2024 season but enter this contest after contrasting results. The Royals took down the Royal Challengers Bengaluru in the Eliminator. On the other hand, Hyderabad suffered a massive defeat against the Kolkata Knight Riders.

Weather Report for May 24, 2024

weather report 1

Pitch Report

pitch report 2


Since the start of May, the Rajasthan Royals fell off a cliff as they suffered four straight losses and no result to close out their league-stage campaign but turned the tables with an intense victory in the Eliminator. Ahead of the clash against RCB, Sanju Samson and Riyan Parag were the only consistent scorers but the return of Shimron Hetmyer and Yashasvi Jaiswal’s solid knock has strengthened their batting. Whereas the bowlers have leaked many runs with Yuzvendra Chahal failing to pick up wickets and contain runs over the last few games while the pacers like Avesh Khan and Trent Boult have performed consistently through the season.

On the other hand, the Sunrisers Hyderabad have been one of the most dominant teams in IPL 2024 hence their performance in Qualifier 1 was incredibly shocking. SRH were decimated across each department by the Kolkata Knight Riders. Their batting after the prolific openers has seemed bleak and they need to put in a lot of effort to take on the Royals. On the bowling front, Pat Cummins’ form will be crucial for SRH as he will control the middle overs with an inexperienced spin attack.

Key Players

key players copy

Author’s Picks

author s picks 1

Probable XIs

Sunrisers Hyderabad

Travis Head, Abhishek Sharma, Rahul Tripathi, Nitish Reddy, Heinrich Klaasen (wk), Abdul Samad, Shahbaz Ahmed, Pat Cummins (c), Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Vijayakanth Viyaskanth, T Natarajan

Impact Substitute: Umran Malik (if batting first, replaces Abhishek Sharma)

Rajasthan Royals

Yashasvi Jaiswal, Tom Kohler-Cadmore, Sanju Samson (c & wk), Riyan Parag, Dhruv Jurel, Rovman Powell, Ravichandran Ashwin, Trent Boult, Avesh Khan, Sandeep Sharma, Yuzvendra Chahal

Impact Substitute: Shimron Hetmyer (if batting first, replaces Yuzvendra Chahal)

Fantasy Teams

Grand League

grand league 1


head to head 1

Best 14

Wicketkeepers: Sanju Samson,  Heinrich Klaasen

Batters: Yashasvi Jaiswal, Travis Head, Abhishek Sharma, Rahul Tripathi

All-Rounders: Riyan Parag, Ravichandran Ashwin, Nitish Reddy

Bowlers: Trent Boult, Yuzvendra Chahal, Avesh Khan, Pat Cummins, T Natarajan

Disclaimer: The cricket fantasy tips and facts expressed within this article are the author's personal opinions. They do not reflect the views of SportsTiger. It is not a reflection of the actual points you might earn. SportsTiger does not assume any responsibility or liability for the same.