australia test team sportstiger

Picture Credit: Twitter

Just days ahead of World Test Championship Final 2021-23, the Australian cricket team has been handed a major blow. Star Australian cricketer Josh Hazlewood, who wasn’t deemed fit for the much-awaited WTC Final has been ruled out of the tournament.


The Australian pacer who had picked up side soreness during the Indian Premier League, was named in the squad for WTC Final and the Ashes 2023. However, Michael Neser has been replaced in the 15-member Australia squad for the WTC Final with Scott Boland being the favourite to make in the Playing XI.


Australia Chief Selector George Bailey opened up on this update. Bailey also confirmed that he remains in contention for the first of the Tests in Edgbaston on June 16. “Josh was very, very close to being given green light but we are cognisant that our upcoming schedule (the WTC final quickly followed by five Ashes Tests) means this is not a one-off Test match for us,” Bailey said.


Australia’s 15-member squad for WTC Final:

Pat Cummins (c), Scott Boland, Alex Carey (wk), Cameron Green, Marcus Harris, Travis head, Josh Inglis (wk), Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Todd Murphy, Michael Neser, Steve SMith (vc), Mitchell Starc, David Warner.


Standby Players: Mitchell Marsh, Matthew Renshaw