RCB Winning moment against MI Picture Credit: BCCI/ IPL

RCB Winning moment against MI Picture Credit: BCCI/ IPL

AB de Villiers and Harshal Patel scripted a thrilling last-ball victory for Royal Challengers Bangalore over the  defending champions. After winning the toss, Virat Kohli opted to field first and RCB's disciplined bowling restricted the star-studded batting line-up of MI to 159/9, with the help of Harshal Patel's five-wicket haul. At one stage, Virat Kohli and Glenn Maxwell's partnership had put RCB in control of the match. However, brilliant bowling from MI helped them make a comeback in the game.

RCB. who lost wickets regularly in the middle overs needed 54 runs in last 5 overs. AB de Villiers' blistering knock of 48(27) helped them cross the line and RCB won the thriller on the last ball by 2 wickets. AB de Villers had a good record against MI before this game and he continued his same glorious form today. ABD targeted the overs of Rahul Chahar and Trent Boult in the end to help RCB win.

Let us look at some of the interesting numbers and stats from this game:

1 - This was the first win For Virat Kohli as captain of RCB at Chepauk, MA Chidambaram stadium. RCB also won their 1st match at the venue since 2012. Also, Haryana all-rounder Harshal Patel bagged his maiden five-wicket haul in the IPL and also became the first bowler to take a fifer against Mumbai Indians.

2 - Only for the 2nd time in IPL history, RCB won a match on the last ball of the match.

vs PWI in 2012
vs MI in 2021*

3 - Harshal Patel became only the 3rd bowler to pick a five-wicket haul for RCB. Also he is only the 3rd uncapped Indian bowler to pick a 5-wicket haul.

RCB bowlers with 5-wicket haul:

Anil Kumble
Jaydev Unadkat
Harshal Patel*

Uncapped Indian players with 5-wicket haul:

Ankit Rajpoot
Varun Chakravarthy
Harshal Patel*

7 - Virat Kohli as RCB captain has won 7 matches against MI in IPL. It is 2nd best number of wins for a captain vs Mumbai. Kohli is only behind MS Dhoni who has 13 wins vs MI in IPL.

Most wins vs MI as captain in IPL:

MS Dhoni - 13
V.Kohli - 7*
Gautam Gambhir / Steven Smith - 6
Shane Warne / Adam Gilchrist / Virender Sehwag / David Warner - 4

9 - MI have lost their opening match of IPL for the 9th consecutive year (2013-2021).

45.52 - AB de Villiers has a batting average of 45.52 vs MI in IPL. 

Highest batting average vs MI in IPL [Min 500 runs]

KL Rahul - 64.44
Shaun Marsh - 47.81
AB de Villiers - 45.52*
6000 - During his 33-run knock yesterday, Virat Kohli became the only captain to smash 6000 runs in T20 cricket.

21 - Jasprit Bumrah has picked 21 wickets vs RCB in IPL.

Most wickets vs RCB

Ashish Nehra / Sandeep Sharma / Harbhajan Singh - 23
Jasprit Bumrah - 21*
Ravindra Jadeja - 20
Piyush Chawla - 19