Picture Credit: X

Picture Credit: X

Th e second edition of the Maharashtra Premier League is set to kick off on June 2 and will continue till June 22. The opening clash of the tournament will be a repeat of the MPL 2023 where Ratnagiri Jets will take on Kolhapur Tuskers. The league organised under the guidance of the Maharashtra Cricket Association (MCA) and the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) is based on the format of the Indian Premier League (IPL). In the previous season, Ratnagiri Jets were crowned as the champions after they defeated Kolhapur Tuskers. 

The venue for the 2024 edition of the MPL will be the MCA International Stadium in Gahunje, Pune. The thrilling 20-day contest featuring the best cricketing talents from across the state of Maharashtra will be preceded by a glittering opening ceremony. The ceremony is scheduled to be held on Sunday, June 2 at 6:00 pm. The entertainment-filled ceremony will be graced by Indian actress Mouni Roy and famous Maharashtrian singer Sanju Rathod. 

Like the matches of the tournament, the ceremony will also take place at the MCA Stadium in Pune. The streaming will be available on JioCinema app and website, and fans will be able to catch the live action on these two platforms. 

Coming back to the tournament, the afternoon matches of the league will begin at 2pm, whereas the evening matches are set to begin at 7 pm. A total of 34 matches will be played in MPL 2024 which will see all teams clashing against each other twice in a double round-robin format. The top four teams at the end of this stage will qualify for the playoffs. 

Follow: MPL Live Score 2024