New Zealand name 15-member squad for India tour, features seven players with international experience

Notably, New Zealand A last toured India in 2017 to play three four-day matches and as many as one-day matches in Bangalore and Chennai, respectively.

Aakash SrivastavaAuthor

Updated - 16 September 2022 03:54 PM


New Zealand A will tour India to play red and white-ball fixtures with India A in September, this year. The overseas tour of New Zealand A will be first overseas tour since the 2018 to the United Arab of Emirates to play Pakistan A. Considering tough fights from India A, New Zealand Cricket Board has named the squad featuring seven players with international experience.  

Apart from mentioning players with full international experience, the squad also features five players with a chance to represent New Zealand A for the first time. Chad Bowes, Matt Fisher, Ben Lister, Robbie O'Donnell and Joe Walker are the notable players who will have an opportunity to debut for New Zealand A. Interestingly, Wellington Firebirds pace-bowler Logan van Beek has also been added in the squad after his stint with Netherlands after ICC eligibility rules allowed him to play for both sides concurrently. Tom Bruce and Robie O'Donnell have been named co-captain for the tour. 

Reportedly, players will depart on August 26 (Friday) for India. Notably, New Zealand A last toured India in 2017 to play three four-day matches and as many as one-day matches in Bangalore and Chennai, respectively.

BLACKCAPS selector Gavin Larsen who will accompany the squad as part of the support staff claimed that tour represents a huge development opportunity for the playing and coaching group. “It’s great to have A fixtures back on the touring calendar and even more exciting to see team set to take on quality team like India A. Such tours are vital in developing our players and provides them opportunity to test themselves against quality opposition. Larsen further asserted that players like Mark Chapman, Jacob Duffy and Dane Cleaver have rich experience with them which will surely help the youngsters during India tour."

"With a perfect blend of red ball and white ball matches players will get to improve their skills and potential in different situation against strong side like India A. The conditions present a great opportunity for the spin bowling group in particular, ahead of future tours and ICC events in the subcontinent. Touring India is one of the great experiences for any cricketer and I know the players and staff are looking forward to the challenge," concluded Larsen. 

Central Stags Head Coach Rob Walter will lead the coaching group, supported by Canterbury Assistant Coach Brendon Donkers and NZC High Performance Coach Paul Wiseman.

New Zealand A squad: Robbie O’Donnell, Tom Bruce, Joe Carter, Chad Bowes, Mark Chapman, Jacob Duffy, Dane Cleaver, Matt Fisher, Cameron Fletcher, Ben Lister, Michael Rippon, Rachin Ravindra, Sean Solia, Joe Walker, Logan van Beek


Join our Family Today!