Credit: X/IPL

Credit: X/IPL

During the match 50th of the Indian Premier League (IPL) between Sunrisers Hyderabad and Rajasthan Royals, Travis Head survived a controversial run-out decision from the third umpire, when his bat seemed up in the air. It led to the former Indian cricketer, Irfan Pathan, criticising the third umpire, calling it a “horrible decision.”

It was the 15th over of the SunRisers Hyderabad when their opening batsman Travis Head missed a fuller-length delivery outside the off stump from Avesh Khan. The captain of Rajasthan Royals, Sanju Samson, spotted Travis Head over-balancing at the crease, and he quickly threw down the stumps after collecting the ball cleanly.

When the bails were dislodged off the groove of the stumps, Travis Head was trying to ground his bat inside the crease. Sanju Samson confidently appealed for the decision to go to the third umpire, who adjudicated it not out despite Simon Katich, one of the commentators on the live broadcast, feeling that the bat was in the air.

Although Avesh Khan castled Travis Head on the very next ball, to put an end to his innings of 58 runs off 44 balls, Kumar Sangakkara, the Director of Cricket and the Head Coach of Rajasthan Royals, had an animated discussion with the fourth umpire about the controversial runout. Irfan Pathan also gave his point of view on the situation on X, commenting, “Horrible decision again from third umpire. There were two more frames to see. Head’s bat was in the air.”

Check viral fans' reactions to the controversial decision on Travis Head during SRH vs RR:

Meanwhile, this IPL 2024 match at the Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium in Hyderabad, ended up being a classic. SunRisers Hyderabad defeated Rajasthan Royals by one run to register their sixth win in the ongoing season of the IPL.