PCB announce squad for Test series against England, Mohammad Wasim Jnr and Zahid Mehmood recalled

The board have added couple of fresh faces for the 3-match Test series, which is part of ICC World Test Championship.

SportsTiger StaffAuthor

Updated - 21 November 2022 12:59 PM


Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) on Monday announced a 18-member squad for the Test series against England, starting from December 1. Shaheen Shah Afridi, who has been battling with a knee injury, has been left out of the squad. 

Apart from Afridi, other notable names who have missed out are  Hasan Ali, Fawad Alam and Yasir Shah.

Meanwhile,  Uncapped Mohammad Wasim Jnr and Zahid Mehmood, who were part of the Test side for the three Tests against Australia earlier this year, has been recalled in the side. 

The board have added couple of fresh faces for the 3-match Test series, which is part of  ICC World Test Championship. 

Mystery spinner Abrar Ahmed and fast bowler Mohammad Ali have received maiden Test call-ups after a good domestic season.

While Abrar claimed 43 wickets at an average of 21.95 in  Quaid-e-Azam Trophy,  Mohammad Ali has been the best fast bowler in the Quaid-e-Azam Trophy in the last two editions, taking 56 wickets.

“I want to congratulate all the players who have been selected for the historic Test series against England. We have selected this 18-man squad keeping in mind the form of the players, the conditions and the opposition", Chief selector Muhammad Wasim said. 

Pakistan squad for England Tests: Babar Azam (c), Mohammad Rizwan (vc & wk), Abdullah Shafique, Abrar Ahmed, Azhar Ali, Faheem Ashraf, Haris Rauf, Imam-ul-Haq, Mohammad Ali, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Wasim Jnr, Naseem Shah, Nauman Ali, Salman Ali Agha, Sarfaraz Ahmed, Saud Shakeel, Shan Masood and Zahid Mehmood.


Join our Family Today!