Indian Premier League has provided a great platform to all the cricketers in and outside India. While the cash-rich league has completed a glorious 15 years of its existence, former Kolkata Knight Riders captain and someone who has lifted the IPL title twice, Gautam Gambhir made an interesting pick as his favourite captain in the history of the Indian Premier League.

Gautam Gambhir was asked to choose one between Mahendra Singh Dhoni and Rohit Sharma as the most competitive captain in the IPL. Known for his bold and honest statements, former KKR captain Gautam Gambhir clearly stated that he does not need to think much over as Rohit Sharma was the only captain who gave him sleepless nights.

"I am not scared of trolls, Rohit Sharma hands down. I have played against both of them and hence my answer is Rohit Sharma," said Gambhir when he was asked to choose between the two IPL captains. 

“I don’t need to make plans for anyone else, nor did I think much about others,” Gambhir added. Meanwhile, Rohit Sharma has been picked as the best IPL captain by Star Sports, which is celebrating 15 years of IPL. Apart from Rohit, Star Sports has picked AB De Villiers as the best batter, Jasprit Bumrah as the best bowler, Andre Russel as the most impactful player, Virat Kohli in the ‘best batting performance’ category and Sunil Narine for his ‘best bowling performance.’

When asked to pick two players whom he could add to bolster the strength of his team in IPL, Gambhir mentioned Rohit Sharma and Yuvraj Singh. 

“It’s a difficult question, but the answer is very simple. If I have to pick two players, I have an easy answer. My first player would be Rohit Sharma, and the second would be Yuvraj Singh. I didn’t need any other player apart from these two. I am not saying we would be having a perfect team, but we would have won more than two titles,” Gambhir added.

Rohit Sharma has recently clinched his maiden Border-Gavaskar trophy as a skipper as he led the side from the front in the first two matches. Team India outplayed the Aussies in the first two matches of the series and retained the Border-Gavaskar trophy for the third time in a row.