Sri Lanka pacer Dilshan Madushanka concedes nine runs without bowling a single ball in Asia Cup 2022 final

It was one of those instances when the bowler could not get anything right despite trying everything.

Ritesh PathakAuthor

Updated - 11 September 2022 11:32 PM

extras-web-st

Pakistan and Sri Lanka are taking on each other in the Asia Cup 2022 final. It was Pakistan’s Babar Azam who won the toss and invited Sri Lanka to bat first. Pakistani bowlers had a terrific start to the innings as they reduced Sri Lanka to 42/3 in their first six overs. Naseem Shah and Haris Rauf wreaked havoc with the new balls. 

However, Dhananajaya de Silva, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, and Wanindu Hasaranga played invaluable innings to bail Sri Lanka out of trouble and propel them to 170/6 in the 20 overs. It seemed the Lankans had an advantage at the halfway stage having scored 20-30 extra runs. Dasun Shanaka walked out high on confidence to defend the total. He handed the ball to young pacer Dilshan Madushanka with two right-handed batters at the crease. 

But the left-handed pacer could not provide the best of the starts to Sri Lanka with the ball as he conceded 9 runs without bowling a single ball in the very first over. It was one of those instances when the bowler could not get anything right despite trying everything. It started with Madushanka overstepping while delivering the first ball of the first over. 

It was given a free-hit by the on-field umpire. In order to survive the free-hit, Madushanka kept spraying on Mohammad Rizwan’s legs and bowled four consecutive wides. On one of those deliveries, the ball also went past Kusal Mendis and through to the boundary line and brought five extra runs for Pakistan. Eventually, Madushanka bowled the first legal delivery which went for a single.

Watch the video:

HAVE A GREAT DAY WITH TOP STORIES IN THE WORLD OF SPORTS

Join our Family Today!