St Kitts and Nevis Patriots beat Saint Lucia Kings on the last delivery of CPL 2021 final to win maiden title

Drakes' unbeaten knock of 48 runs in the end proved to be the difference as he led his side to a remarkable victory.

Rohan GulatyAuthor

Updated - 16 September 2021 10:03 AM


The 2021 season of Caribbean Premier League has finally concluded after few days of some brilliant and thrilling cricket at Warner Park in St Kitts. With so many star studded sides, it was down to the final two teams with St Kitts & Nevis Patriots locking horns with Saint Lucia Kings in the ultimate showdown, who were interestingly the 3rd and 4th placed teams in the group stages.

In the end, it was the St Kitts & Nevis Patriots who finally went on win the exciting grand finale on Wednesday. The Kings notably became the champions for the first time in history of the tournament, redeeming themselves four years after finishing as failing to cross the line in 2017, where they had to settle for the runner-up position.

Keemo Paul's late cameo took the Kings to 159/7 in 20 overs

Saint Lucia Kings opted to bat first after winning the toss and found themselves in trouble early in the innings post the dismissal of Andre Fletcher. However, Rahkeem Cornwall (43 off 32) and Roston Chase (43 off 40) got their side back into the contest with some sensible batting. However, the Kings were looking for a fiery cameo from someone towards the end of the innings and this is when Keemo Paul came to the party. The all-rounder smashed three consecutive sixes off the penultimate over as his 21-ball 39-run knock eventually set up a 160-run target for St Kitts & Nevis Patriots.

St Kitts & Nevis Patriots win by 3 wickets

Dwayne Bravo's side got off to an unforgettable start in second innings as they lost the wickets of Chris Gayle and Evin Lewis quite early in the run-chase. When the skipper got out, the score read 95/5 in 13.5 overs and the stage was set for a thrilling end to the game. Dominic Drakes and Fabian Allen held their nerves and stitched a crucial 44-run partnership for 6th wicket. It was eventually down to the wire with 9 runs required off the last over being bowled by Kesrick Williams. However, Drakes' unbeaten knock of 48 runs in the end proved to be the difference as he led his side to a remarkable victory.

CPL winners of all seasons

CPL 2013 - Jamaica Tallawahs

CPL 2014 - Barbados Tridents

CPL 2015 - Trinbago Knight Riders (formerly known as the Trinidad and Tobago Red Steel)

CPL 2016 - Jamaica Tallawahs

CPL 2017 - Trinbago Knight Riders

CPL 2018 - Trinbago Knight Riders

CPL 2019 - Barbados Tridents

CPL 2020 - Trinbago Knight Riders

CPL 2021 - St Kitts and Nevis Patriots


Join our Family Today!