Credit: X

Credit: X

Match Details

Date: June 2, 2024

Time: 8:00 PM IST

Venue: Providence Stadium, Guyana

Live ball-by-ball commentary: SportsTiger

Match Preview:

The two-time champions West Indies will kick off their T20 World Cup 2024 against Papua New Guinea at the Providence Stadium in Guyana. The Windies directly qualified for the World Cup as one of the hosts. At the same time, PNG went unbeaten in qualifying for the event, winning six matches on the bounce and defeating  Japan, Vanuatu, and the Philippines in the regional final to qualify.

Weather Report for June 2, 2024

weather report 2

Pitch Report

pitch report 3


The West Indies have emerged as a dark horse contender with a quality squad full of experienced cricketers, who bring a wealth of T20 experience. The Windies may be one of the best across the tournament with competent batting options till number 8. But on the bowling front, West Indies could struggle as they need a world-class strike bowler and also because of the inexperience of their bowlers.

One of the most in-form teams ahead of the T20 World Cup, Papua New Guinea will hope to register a few positive results in this World Cup. The PNG batting will be led by Tony Ura, who has been the backbone of their squad. Talking about bowling, Charles Amini, the leg-spinner will be crucial as the main spinner in a side which has generally been very pace-heavy. Amini could certainly be effective against the Windies with the spin-friendly conditions at the Providence Stadium in Guyana.

Key Players

key players 1

Author’s Picks

author s picks 2

Probable XIs

West Indies

Johnson Charles, Brandon King, Shai Hope, Roston Chase, Nicholas Pooran  (wk), Rovman Powell (c), Andre Russell, Akeal Hosein, Alzarri Joseph, Shamar Joesph, Gudakesh Moite

Papua New Guinea

Tony Ura, Sese Bau, Assadollah Vala (c), Lega Siaka, Charles Amini, Hiri Hiri, Kipling Doriga (wk), Chad Soper, Norman Vanua, John Kariko, Kabua Morea

Fantasy Teams

Grand League

grand league 2


head to head

Best 14

Wicketkeepers: Tony Ura, Kipling Doriga, Nicholas Pooran, Johnson Charles, Shai Hope

Batters: Brandon King, Rovman Powell

All-Rounders: Assadollah Vala, Norman Vanua, Andre Russell, Roston Chase

Bowlers: Alzarri Joseph, Shamar Joesph, Gudakesh Moite

Disclaimer: The cricket fantasy tips and facts expressed within this article are the author's personal opinions. They do not reflect the views of SportsTiger. It is not a reflection of the actual points you might earn. SportsTiger does not assume any responsibility or liability for the same.