The Indian Premier League (IPL) completed fifteen seasons last year as Gujarat Titans beat Rajasthan Royals to lift the title. A tournament that was started in 2008 with an aim to promote T20 cricket in India has now become folklore in every Indian household. While many people don’t know about India’s international matches, everyone is well-aware of the IPL schedule. The T20 league has become more than just a tournament for Indian cricket fans as well as players. 

Over the years, IPL has unearthed many amazing talents. The likes of Jasprit Bumrah, Hardik Pandya, Ishan Kishan, and Umran Malik have got recognition due to IPL. Meanwhile, the likes of Virat Kohli, Suresh Raina, Andre Russell, and Rashid Khan have asserted their dominance by performing throughout the different editions. This also gives rise to a debate about who should be in IPL’s all-time XI and who should not. 

The debate got reopened when a user shared the AI-generated all-time IPL-XI after analyzing ball-by-ball data of every match since 2008. In the playing XI shared by the user, the names of a few superstars of the league were missing. The two major missings were Chris Gayle and Suresh Raina. Fans were left surprised as they could not see Mr IPL (Raina) in the XI. 

“what MR. IPL isn't there who is only one Player who hit 700+ runs in IPL Playoff matches,” commented one user. “How could Raina miss out from being inducted in the list who holds a great record n stats who was consistent in every season he played n helped Chennai win the title, as skipper Dhoni might have contributed but as a player, Raina's contribution to IPL n Chennai can't be overlooked,” wrote another. 

Check the reactions here: