Who is Mukesh Kumar? - All you need to know about Team India’s new entrant for South Africa ODI series

He clinched 9 wickets in the three unofficial four-day matches against New Zealand A last month.

SportsTiger StaffAuthor

Updated - 03 October 2022 12:20 PM


The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) on Sunday named a 16-member squad for the ODI series against South Africa. As reported earlier, Shikhar Dhawan will lead the side in the three-match ODI series, starting October. But there were a few surprises in the squad, one being Rajat Patidar and the other being Mukesh Kumar.

While Rajat Patidar is no new name to the ears, Mukesh Kumar seems to be a eye opening entry in the squad. The 28-year-old pacer is currently playing in the Irani Trophy 2022 and is representing Rest of India against Saurashtra. He was last seen playing for India A against New Zealand A last month.

Here is all you need to know about the new Team India entrant for ODI series against South Africa:

Name: Mukesh Kumar
Age: 28 years
Date of Birth: 12 October 1993
Hails from: Gopalganj district, Bihar
Teams: Bengal (domestic cricket), India A (vs New Zealand A), Rest of India(Irani Trophy 2022)
Role: Right-arm pacer

More about Mukesh Kumar:

Mukesh Kumar took four wickets in the first innings of Irani Trophy 2022 to bowl out Saurashtra for 98 on Day 1.

He clinched 9 wickets in the three unofficial four-day matches against New Zealand A last month.

The 28-year-old, who plays for Bengal in domestic cricket, made his First Class debut in October 2015.

He made his T20 debut against Gujarat in January 2016, while his List A debut came against Uttar Pradesh in December 2015.

He has 17 wickets from 18 matches in List A at an average of 44.00.

The right-arm pacer has taken 19 wickets in 17 T20 matches at an economy of 7.25.

The 28-year-old Mukesh Kumar was Bengal’s joint-highest wicket-taker in 2021-22 Ranji Trophy (20 wickets in 9 innings).

India’s ODI squad:  Shikhar Dhawan (Captain), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shubman Gill, Shreyas Iyer (vice-captain), Rajat Patidar, Rahul Tripathi, Ishan Kishan (wicket-keeper), Sanju Samson (wicket-keeper), Shahbaz Ahmed, Shardul Thakur, Kuldeep Yadav, Ravi Bishnoi, Mukesh Kumar, Avesh Khan, Mohd. Siraj, Deepak Chahar


Join our Family Today!