Picture Credit: Twitter

Picture Credit: Twitter

In the latest news development, the BCCI apex council has decided to stage the Women’s Challengers series from May 24 to May 28 at Ekana Stadium, Lucknow. This decision was one of the three key announcements after the meeting got culminated on Saturday evening.

The Women’s Challenger series will take place from May 24 to May 28 at Ekana Stadium, Lucknow. It will be a 3-team tournament with teams namely Velocity, Supernovas, and Trailblazers, who have been a part of the tournament since 2018. The three editions of the tournament have already taken place, with Supernovas securing title victories on two occasions in 2018 and 2019, while the Trailblazers won in 2020.

"The Women's Challenger series will be held between May 24-28 at Lucknow's Ekana Stadium," BCCI president Ganguly told media persons.

This will be the last edition of this tournament as Women’s IPL is also being proposed in 2023. In the proposed plan, 6-team will contest in the tournament.

The BCCI President Sourav Ganguly had also given a confirmation to organize the Women’s IPL to start as soon as 2023. Behind the scenes, all the paperwork and procedures are being carried out amid the pressure from the cricket fans and the players like Jemimah Rodrigues and Smriti Mandhana.

"We are at the level of formulation to have a full-fledged WIPL. It is certainly going to happen. I strongly believe that next year i.e. 2023 will be a very good time to start a full-fledged women's IPL which will be as big and grand a success as the men's IPL," Ganguly was quoted as saying by news agency PTI in February.

This announcement is a welcome step as well due to the Cricket West Indies planning to organize the Women’s CPL, with the Australian Cricket Board and England Cricket Board successfully organizing Women’s BBL and Women’s version of The Hundred, respectively.