Untitled-1 (1)

Picture Credit: Twitter

Cricket South Africa Director Graeme Smith, on Thursday, announced that the Proteas will be hosting India for a multi-format series during the 2021-22 summer. The series will comprise of three Tests, three ODIs and four T20Is. The series will kick start with the three-match Test series, then will be followed by the white-ball series. All the games will be played between December 17 and January 26.

Here is everything you need to know about the full tour:

Full schedule

1st Test, Dec 17-21, Johannesburg

2nd Test, Dec 26-30, Centurion

3rd Test, January 3-7, Johannesburg

1st ODI, 11 January 2022

2nd ODI, 14 January 2022

3rd ODI, 16 January 2022

1st T20I, 19 January 2022

2nd T20I, 21 January 2022

3rd T20I, 23 January 2022

4th T20I, 26 January 2022

(Note: The venues for ODIs and T20Is will be shared between Cape Town and Paarl)

When did South Africa and India last meet?

India and South Africa were scheduled to play a bilateral series in March 2020. But the series’ first game was abandoned without a ball being bowled due to rain while rest of the two games were cancelled due to COVID-19. India then confirmed a three-match T20I series with South Africa - initially for August last year and then in September-October this year. But none of it could happen as first South Africa was experiencing the first wave of COVID-19 and then due to the second phase of IPL.

So, effectively, India and South Africa last played each other in September-October 2019 where they played three ODIs and three Tests. The ODI series ended in a 1-1 draw while India swept Africa 3-0 in Tests. If we talk about India touring South Africa, it happened way back in 2018 when they played three Tests, six ODIs and three T20Is. India could not win the Test series (lost 2-1) but dominated the white ball fixtures as they clinched the ODI series 5-1 and the T20I series 2-1.