Australia will travel to South Africa for a white ball series which will consist of three T20Is and five ODIs. The Australian team will go to South Africa in late August for the limited-over tour that will end in mid-September, around a month before the anticipated start of the ICC 50-over World Cup being played in India. The development was confirmed by Cricket South Africa (CSA) today.

All of the T20 matches will be held at Kingsmead in the seaside city of Durban from August 30 to September 3. The ODIs will begin on September 7, with the first two games being played in Bloemfontein and the next three games to be held in Potchefstroom, Pretoria and Johannesburg respectively.  

Australia are yet to name a captain for the T20I format after their previous captain Aaron Finch retired from International Cricket.  South Africa on the other hand has not yet qualified for the marquee event, i.e. the ODI World Cup. If Ireland is unsuccessful in winning the Bangladesh series by a clean sweep, the Proteas will qualify for the World Cup. 

If not, they will have to feature in the World Cup Qualifiers in Zimbabwe. The tour also aims to make up for the Test series that was cancelled in early 2021 when Australia withdrew due to worries over Covid-19, but there are no Test matches on the schedule.

Australia tour to South Africa:

August 30: First T20 – Durban

September 1: Second T20 – Durban

September. 3: Third T20 – Durban

September 7: First ODI - Bloemfontein

September 9: Second ODI - Bloemfontein

September 12: Third ODI - Potchefstroom

September 15: Fourth ODI – Pretoria

September 17: Fifth ODI – Johannesburg