Picture Credit: Twitter

Picture Credit: Twitter

Cricket Australia on Wednesday (April 19) announced 17-member squad for the much-awaited World Test Championship Final. The Australian cricket board took to Twitter to announce a strong squad for the WTC Final, which is set to take place from 7-11 June 2023 at the Oval.


In the 17-member squad, Australian opener David Warner retained his place despite his poor-run of form. His place comes seeing the Ashes series, scheduled to take place after the conclusion of the WTC Final. The other notable changes which were seen in the squad was all-rounder Mitchell Marsh, Josh Inglis and Marcus Harris all retaining a place.


Australian Test skipper Pat Cummins will also mark his return to the team after missing the last two matches of the Border Gavaskar trophy 2023.  It is to be noted that Cummins left the squad and returned to Australia due to a family emergency. He did not return for the final Test of the series due to his mother’s demise.


The Cricket Australia also announced the Ashes squad along with the WTC Final squad. “The 17 players named today will begin preparations for the final two Tests of the subsequent Ashes campaign at Edgbaston (June 16-20) and Lord’s (June 28 - July 2) before selectors revise the group for the last three Ahes Tests at Headingly, Old Trafford and The Oval,” Cricket Australia’s statement read.


Australia squad for WTC Final & Ashes: Pat Cummins (C), Scott Boland, Alex Carey, Cameron Green, Marcus Harris, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Josh Inglis, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Mitchell Marsh, Todd Murphy, Matthew Renshaw, Steve Smith (vc), Mitchell Starc, David Warner