Picture Credit: Twitter

Picture Credit: Twitter

eISL, the official eSports competition of the Indian Super League, operated by Football Sports Development Limited in collaboration with EA SPORTS and NODWIN Gaming, has its league stage completed on April 26. The top six clubs have progressed to the playoff stages of the second edition of eISL. All the playoff matches including the knockouts and semi-finals, plus the final will be played on May 6 and 7, 2023.

FC Goa stayed undefeated throughout the league stages with 9 wins and 1 draw to top the eISL points table while securing 28 points. Northeast United FC got 23 points to finish second, while Mumbai City FC and Bengaluru FC earned 21 and 20 points to end up with third and fourth spot, respectively. 

Hyderabad FC finished in fifth spot with 14 points, ahead of Kerala Blasters FC, who got 12 points to secure sixth and final playoff spot. The defending champions of eISL from season one, Chennaiyin FC, were unfortunate to miss out on eISL playoffs as they ended up with 11 points to stay in 7th spot on the points ladder.

The format for eISL playoffs has been tweaked this year as the top 2 will automatically qualify to the semi-finals of the tournament. They will wait for the winners of the third-place team taking on the sixth-place team, while the fourth-place team taking on the fifth-place team in knockout matches. With that being said, FC Goa will take on the winners of Bengaluru FC and Hyderabad FC, while Northeast United FC will take on the winners of Mumbai City FC and Kerala Blasters FC.

The winners of the two semi-finals will play each other in the final on May 7, 2023 to determine the new champions of eISL in its second edition.

Here is the full schedule for the eISL playoff stages: