Credit: X

Credit: X

On Saturday, June 1, India will be taking on Bangladesh in their first and only warm-up match at the Nassau County International Cricket Stadium in New York before kicking-off their T20 World Cup 2024 campaign. The Indian cricket team, who are the inaugural champions from 2007, have just arrived to the USA after their players finished off the gruelling two-month long IPL season.

India are placed in Group A of the T20 World Cup 2024 alongside their arch-rivals Pakistan, one of the hosts, the USA, Ireland, and Canada. They will play their first match of the tournament against Ireland on June 5, at the Nassau County International Cricket Stadium.

image 2024 05 31t06 17 18 906z

Team News

For the upcoming warm-up match against Bangladesh in the T20 World Cup 2024, Virat Kohli is not expected to play for India. It’s because he has yet to arrive in the USA with just a day remaining until the warm-up match is scheduled to begin.

Rules for IND vs BAN Warm-up match

The rules for a warm-up match are quite similar to a standard match except there are certain relaxations in terms of the lineups, which is why the ICC doesn’t count them in official stats. The captains don’t need to announce the playing XI in a warm-up match because they are allowed to rotate all the 15 members of the squad, but only 11 batters can be dismissed and 11 fielders can be on the field at any given time.

Pitch Report

The Nassau County International Cricket Stadium in New York is a temporary facility in East Meadow, New York, where the drop-in pitches will be used for the T20 World Cup 2024. The drop-in pitches are brought from the Adelaide Oval in Australia, where the pace and bounce is the norm, which could be the case for the venue in New York as well.


India: Rohit Sharma (c), Hardik Pandya, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant, Sanju Samson, Shivam Dube, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Arshdeep Singh, Jasprit Bumrah, and Mohammed Siraj.

Bangladesh: Najmul Hossain Shanto (c), Taskin Ahmed, Litton Das, Soumya Sarkar, Tanzid Hasan Tamim, Shakib Al Hasan, Tawhid Hridoy, Mahmud Ullah Riyad, Jaker Ali Anik, Tanvir Islam, Shak Mahedi Hasan, Rishad Hossain, Mustafizur Rahman, Shoriful Islam, and Tanzim Hasan Sakib.