Picture Credit: X

Picture Credit: X

The 2014 edition of the T20 World Cup or ICC World Twenty20 was the fifth edition of the tournament. The competition took place in Dhaka, Bangladesh from March 16 to April 2014. The season was special because saw the implementation of the Decision Review System (DRS) for the first time. The tournament saw the inaugural winners, India reaching the final, where they were eventually beaten by Sri Lanka by six wickets. 

In this article, we will go through India’s performance at the 2014 ICC World Twenty20.

India’s squad for T20 World Cup 2014

Members who were a part of India’s T20 World Cup 2014 squad are: 

Mahendra Singh Dhoni (Captain), Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Suresh Raina, Yuvraj Singh, Ajinkya Rahane, Ravindra Jadeja, R Ashwin, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammed Shami, Stuart Binny, Amit Mishra, Mohit Sharma and Varun Aaron.

India’s grouping and placements

The 2014 edition was the first time that 16 teams participated in the tournament, and saw the UAE, Nepal, and Hong Kong making their World T20 debut. 

Super 10s

In the Super 10 stage, India were placed in Group 2, including Australia, Pakistan, West Indies, and Bangladesh. 

The 2007 winners played their first clash against Pakistan on March 21 and emerged victorious by seven wickets. Later, on March 23, they were up against West Indies, where they defeated their counterparts by seven wickets. The win guaranteed them a place in the knockout stage. 


In the second semifinal, Men in Blue locked horns with South Africa and registered a six-wicket win to pave their way into the final. 


MS Dhoni and Co. slumped in the finale of the season and were defeated by Sri Lanka by a margin of six wickets. India’s then-rising batting star Virat Kohli ended up as the highest run-scorer with 319 runs in six matches with a brilliant average of 106.33.