Picture Credit: X

Picture Credit: X

The ninth edition of the T20 World Cup 2024 will commence in just three days' time, with co-hosts USA taking on Canada in the tournament opener on June 1. While this will be the first time USA will host the World Cup, the Men in Blue will eye to end their title draught.

The 2016 edition, which was the sixth edition of the ICC World Twenty20, was hosted in India for the first time. Moreover, it was the second time that 16 teams participated in the tournament, 10 of which qualified automatically due to their status as full members of the ICC, while six earned a place from qualifications. 

In this article, we’ll take you through India’s performance at the 2016 World Twenty20.

India’s squad for T20 World Cup 2016

MS Dhoni continued to lead the side in the 2016 ICC Men’s World Twenty20.

Team India’s squad for 2016 World Cup:

MS Dhoni (Captain), Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Ajinkya Rahane, Yuvraj Singh, Suresh Raina, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Mohammed Shami, Harbhajan Singh, Jasprit Bumrah, Pawan Negi, Ashish Nehra, Hardik Pandya.

India’s grouping and placements

The MS Dhoni-led side entered the 2016 ICC World Twenty20 as huge favorites after they suffered a loss against Sri Lanka in the 2014 World Cup. While they looked like a settled team, entering the tournament after winning 10 out of 11 T20I matches played in that calendar year. 

Super 10s

In the Super 10 stage, India were placed in Group 2, including New Zealand, Australia, Pakistan and Bangladesh. 

The 2007 winners played their first clash against New Zealand on March 15 and suffered a defeat by 47 runs at the Vidarbha cricket Association Stadium in Nagpur. Later, on March 19, they were up against arch-rivals Pakistan, and triumphed over their counterparts by six wickets. 

They then continued their winning run, registering a close one-run win against Bangladesh on May 23 at the M. Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bengaluru. Later, on May 27, they beat Australia by six wickets and the win guaranteed them a place in the knockout stage. 


In the second semifinal, the MS Dhoni-led Men in Blue locked horns with West Indies and eventually lost by seven wickets, ending their campaign in the tournament. 

Eventually, West Indies were crowned the champions after they defeated England four wickets with Marlon Samuels winning the Player of the Match and Virat Kohli getting awarded with the Player of the Series. This was the first time a country lifted the T20 World Cup title for the second time.