Credit: Twitter

Credit: Twitter

CSK and RR have had an identical start to the IPL 2023 by winning two out of three games. In the points table, RR is placed in the second position while CSK is in the fifth position in the points table due to the former's better NRR, despite having the same four points. This contest will be equally balanced, but CSK might have a slight advantage in playing this game on their home ground Chepauk Stadium.

Since 2020, RR have been pretty dominant over CSK by winning four out of five matches in the IPL. But, today the story could be different as CSK will be playing against RR at MA Chidambaram Stadium for the first time since 2019.

Stats and Milestones Ahead of CSK vs RR Game:

3 - Trent Boult needs three more wickets to complete the milestone of picking 100 wickets in the IPL.

Most wickets by an overseas bowler in the IPL:
Dwayne Bravo - 183
Lasith Malinga - 170
Sunil Narine - 158
Rashid Khan - 120
Kagiso Rabada - 99
Dale Steyn / Trent Boult - 97

17 - Jos Buttler needs 17 more runs to complete 3000 runs in the IPL.

Most runs by an overseas batter in the IPL:
David Warner - 6090
AB de Villiers - 5162
Chris Gayle - 4965
Shane Watson - 3874
Faf du Plessis - 3578
Kieron Pollard - 3412
Jos Buttler - 2983

48 - Moeen Ali needs 48 more runs to complete 1000 runs in the IPL.

54 - Sanju Samson needs 54 more runs to complete 3000 runs for RR in the IPL.

71 - Ambati Rayudu needs 71 more runs to complete 6000 runs in T20 cricket.

200 - MS Dhoni will be playing his 200th game as captain of CSK in the IPL.

Most matches played as captain of the franchise in the IPL:
MS Dhoni - 199 for CSK
Rohit Sharma - 146 for MI
Virat Kohli - 140 for RCB

300 - Ravichandran Ashwin will be playing his 300th game in T20 cricket.

2008 - RR defeated CSK at Chepauk Stadium only once in the 2008 IPL edition. Post that, CSK won all their remaining six IPL games against RR in Chennai.

CSK vs RR in IPL at Chepauk Stadium:
2008 - RR won by ten runs
2010 - CSK won by twenty-three runs
2011 - CSK won by eight wickets
2012 - CSK won by seven wickets
2013 - CSK won by five wickets
2015 - CSK won by twelve runs
2019 - CSK won by eight runs