Credit: X

Credit: X

The Indian cricket team, a three-time World Champion team, has been headed by several coaches over the past years. When the team won the 1983 World Cup under the leadership of Kapil Dev, PR Man Singh was the coach. Later in 2007, when MS Dhoni held team’s reins for the first time in the 2007 T20 World Cup and emerged victorious in it, Lalchand Rajput was the coach. 

In 2011, the team was coached by Gary Kirsten, when they won the ODI World Cup for the second time.


List of India Head Coaches in T20 World Cups

Over the years, several names guided the side to many historic wins, and in this article, we will go through the list of India head coaches during the various editions of T20 World Cups. 

ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2007- Lalchand Rajput

icc men s t20 world cup 2007 lalchand rajput

Former cricketer Lalchand Rajput was the name that helped India win the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2007, under the captaincy of MS Dhoni. Rajput was appointed India manager for the 2007 Twenty20 World Championship held in South Africa. He was the coach of the Mumbai Indians in the Indian Premier League 2008. Later in 2016, he was named as head coach of Afghanistan national team, and currently serves as the head of UAE team.