Picture Credit: X/IPL

Picture Credit: X/IPL

The SunRisers Hyderabad (SRH) are taking on Punjab Kings (PBKS) in their final league stage fixture at the Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium in Hyderabad on Sunday, May 19. While the Kings will aim to end their IPL 2024 campaign on a high with a win, the Pat Cummins-led side will aim to seal a win and finish with the top-two place in sight. 

As the two skippers took the field for the toss, it was the Jitesh Sharma-led side came out on top and elected to bat first. At the toss, the PBKS captain also revealed that they have been left with only one overseas option in Rilee Rossouw and he will be joined by the other Indian players. In the PBKS camp, while Sam Curran and Jonny Bairstow returned to resume national duties with England, Liam Livingstone left earlier to nurse his injuries seeing the T20 World Cup 2024 ahead. 

Kagiso Rabada, their Protean signing, also returned to South Africa due to an injury after Punjab Kings were knocked out of the tournament. Moreover, Nathan Ellis, who played their match against the Rajasthan Royals, also missed out the match against SRH. 

“We would like to bat. I think the wicket is looking good. We want to score big and put SRH under pressure. Proud and grateful to captain my side today. We have few options because all the overseas have gone. Only Rilee Rossouw is going to play. We have exciting talent waiting for their opportunity and they are going to give their best today. Noting to lose today, we are here to play some good cricket,” Jitesh Sharma said at the toss. 

SRH vs PBKS Playing XI

SunRisers Hyderabad (SRH): Abhishek Sharma, Nitish Reddy, Rahul Tripathi, Heinrich Klaasen (wk), Abdul Samad, Shahbaz Ahmed, Sanvir Singh, Pat Cummins (C), Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Vijayakanth Viyaskanth, T. Natarajan.

Impact Subs: Travis Head, Umran Malik, Glenn Phillips, Washington Sundar

Punjab Kings (PBKS): Prabhsimran SIngh, Atharva Taide, Rilee Rossouw, Shashank Singh, Jitesh Sharma (C, wk), Ashutosh Sharma, Shivam Singh, harpreet Brar, Rishi Dhawan, Harshal Patel, Rahul Chahar.

Impact Subs: Arshdeep Singh, Tanay Thyagarajan, prince Choudhary, Vidhwath Kaverappa, Harpreet Singh Bhatia.