Picture Credit: Twitter

Picture Credit: Twitter

In a big update it has been confirmed that the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) is set to move on from the mainstay players. Yes, you read it right. The Indian selection committee-led by Chetan Sharma opened up on this after they named the squad for the Sri Lanka series.

On being asked about the idea behind the squad which was named for the Sri Lanka series, the sacked selectors were clear with the view that they kept the team keeping the future of India cricket in mind. If reports are to be believed the board has decided to move on from skipper Rohit Sharma, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, R Ashwin, Mohammed Shami, Dinesh Karthik and Virat Kohli.

Also read:  India vs Pakistan Test match in 2023?


“We have to plan for 2023 T20 World Cup. Some of our top players 35-36, they don’t fit into long term plans for the teams. And if you don’t build team now, when you build it. Yes some of the top guys won’t be included in T20 anymore and they have been informed about it,” a BCCI official confirmed.


Indian all-rounder R Ashwin, Mohammed Shami, Dinesh Karthik and Bhuvneshwar Kumar are more or less completely out of the T20 plans. KL Rahul is another big name who will not fit in the T20 plans for the Men in Blue, but Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli might get little chances.


Hardik Pandya to lead Team India in T20Is


With the Sri Lanka series ahead, all-rounder Hardik Pandya has been named the captain in the shortest format of the game. However, nothing was confirmed on Hardik being the permanent captain, but with chances of Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli looking bleak to play in T20Is, Hardik Pandya is the frontrunner to take the charge.