Picture Credit: X

Picture Credit: X

The Cricket South Africa (CSA) on Friday, May 31 announced their women’s squad for the upcoming India tour. The Proteas Women will travel to India for a multi-format tour, starting from June 16. The series will feature a one-off Test, three ODIs and as many T20Is. While the ODIs are scheduled to take place in Bengaluru, the one-off Test and the T20I series will be held in Chennai.

Just a day after the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) announced the women’s squad for the multi-format series, the Proteas Women have also named their 16member squad for the Test and ODIs, which will be led by Laura Wolvaardt. Apart from Wolvaardt, the side includes the likes of Marizanne Kapp, Ayabonga Khaka, Sune Luus, among several others. 

“Cricket South Africa (CSA) has today named a 16-player squad for the Proteas Women’s outbound tour to India, beginning with three ICC Women’s Championship 2022-25 One-Day Internationals (ODI) and a one-off Test match between 16 June - 01 July in Bengaluru and Chennai,” Proteas Women captioned the post on X.

Furthermore, it is to be noted that India and South Africa Women will play a Test match for the first time in nearly a decade. The last Test match between the two teams took place in November 2014. The upcoming three-match ODI series will be part of the ICC Women’s Championship 2022-25. 

South Africa Women’s ODI & Test squad for India tour

Laura Wolvaardt (Captain), Anneke Bosch, Tazmin Brits, Nadine de Klerk, Annerie Dercksen, Mieke de Ridder, Sinalo Jafta, Marizanne Kapp, Ayabonga Khaka, Masabata Klaas, Sune Luus, Eliz-Mari Marx, Nonkululeko Mlaba, Tumi Sekhukhune, Nondumido Shangase, Delmi Tucker.