Picture Credit: X/IPL

Picture Credit: X/IPL

On Sunday, May 19, Sunrisers Hyderabad defeated Punjab Kings by four wickets in the 69th match of the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2024 season at the Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium in Hyderabad. With this comfortable victory, Sunrisers Hyderabad have jumped to the second place in the IPL 2024 points table ahead of Rajasthan Royals.

After winning the toss, the new stand-in captain for Punjab Kings, Jitesh Sharma, won the toss and decided to bat first at the Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium in Hyderabad. The new opening pair of Atharva Taide and Prabhsimran Singh stitched together an opening stand of 97 runs to put PBKS in a strong position. 

Rilee Rossouw kept the momentum of the innings going alongside Prabhsimran Singh, who scored 71 off 45 with seven fours and four maximums. The final touches to the PBKS batting effort was put by Jitesh Sharma, who scored a quick-fire 30, to help propel their total to 214/5.

In the run chase, Sunrisers Hyderabad lost the wicket of Travis Head on the first ball, castled by a beautiful delivery from Arshdeep Singh. But then, Abhishek Sharma and Rahul Tripathi took control of the innings, putting together a 72-run stand in just five overs to put their team ahead of the required run rate.

Nitish Kumar Reddy took on the PBKS bowlers from where Rahul Tripathi left off, scoring at a high tempo. Meanwhile, Abhishek Sharma completed his third fifty of the IPL 2024 season, scoring 66 off 28 with five fours and six maximums.

With the match in SRH’s grasp, Heinrich Klaasen took the attack to the opposition, putting his team on the brink of a win before losing his stumps to Harpreet Brar. In the final over, Abdul Samad and Sanvir Singh took Sunrisers Hyderabad over the line, putting them in second place on the IPL 2024 points table ahead of Rajasthan Royals.