Match Details

Date: June 7, 2024

Time: 8:00 PM IST

Venue: Providence Stadium, Guyana 

Live ball-by-ball commentary: SportsTiger

Match Preview:

In a big-ticket T20 World Cup 2024 Group C match-up, Afghanistan will take New Zealand in a thrilling encounter at the Providence Stadium in Guyana. The Afghans opened their account in the 2024 World Cup after defeating Uganda by 125 runs in a comprehensive victory. On the other hand, the Kiwi drew against Pakistan 2-2 in a five-match T20I series ahead of the World Cup. 

Weather Report for June 7, 2024

weather report 2

Pitch Report:

pitch report 2


The Afghanistan side led by Rashid Khan has emerged as a dark horse contender in the 2024 edition with a well-rounded side, especially for the shortest format. The Afghan batting isn’t their biggest strength but with Rahmanullah Gurbaz being in top form, the Atalan Lions can put up big scores. On the bowling front, the Afghans boast a world-class spin attack with  Rashid Khan, Mujeeb Ur Rahman and Mohammad Nabi.

Talking about New Zealand, like every year, the Kiwis will kick off this World Cup as the underdogs with a stacked squad full of experience. Their batting has some quality names like Finn Allen, Daryl Mitchell, Mark Chapman, and Glenn Phillips while opener Devon Conway will mark his return after an injury. Looking at the Blackcaps’ bowling attack, Williamson will have plethora of options who have a lot of experience of performing at the highest level.

Key Players

key players 2

Author’s Picks

author s picks 2

Probable XIs

New Zealand

Devon Conway (wk), Finn Allen, Kane Williamson (c), Daryl Mitchell, Mark Chapman, Glenn Phillips, Mitchell Santner, Tim Southee, Trent Boult, Lockie Ferguson, Ish Sodhi


Rahmanullah Gurbaz (wk), Ibrahim Zadran, Gulbadin Naib, Azmatullah Omarzai, Mohammad Nabi, Najibullah Zadran, Karim Janat, Rashid Khan (c), Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Naveen-ul-Haq, Fazalhaq Farooqi

Fantasy Teams

grand league and head to head 1

Best 14

Wicketkeepers: Devon Conway, Rahmanullah Gurbaz, Finn Allen

Batters: Kane Williamson, Daryl Mitchell, Ibrahim Zadran, Glenn Phillips

All-Rounders: Mohammad Nabi, Mitchell Santner

Bowlers: Rashid Khan, Trent Boult, Lockie Ferguson, Fazalhaq Farooqi, Mujeeb Ur Rahman

Disclaimer: The cricket fantasy tips and facts expressed within this article are the author's personal opinions. They do not reflect the views of SportsTiger. It is not a reflection of the actual points you might earn. SportsTiger does not assume any responsibility or liability for the same.