Picture Credit: Twitter

Picture Credit: Twitter

The path to qualify for the T20 World Cup 2024 will continue as Scotland and Papua New Guinea will host the regional qualifiers of Europe and the East Asia Pacific region in July this year. Two teams from each continent will book their berth for the World Cup alongside the top teams.

With the qualification process already started in 2022, the regional finals is the final hurdle in the way of these teams before the main event in the USA and West Indies where 20 teams from all over the world will compete for the ultimate trophy in T20 cricket. The Europe Regional Final will be held in Scotland from 20-28 July and will see the hosts compete alongside Austria, Denmark, Germany, Ireland, Italy, and Jersey. 

Europe Regional Final, Cricket Scotland Interim Head of Performance Toby Bailey said, "Hosting the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Europe Regional Final represents a fantastic opportunity for Cricket Scotland. We are looking forward to hosting one of the biggest European regional events ever and, after staging a successful series against New Zealand last summer, we're pleased to be bringing more world-class cricket to our fans here at home.”

The East Asia Pacific is due to happen around the same time from 21-29 July which will see Japan, Philippines, Vanuatu, and hosts PNG competing with each other for one spot in the grand event. EAP Acting Regional Development Manager, Rob Gomm said, “The ICC Men’s T20 World Cup EAP Final marks the biggest event the EAP region has seen, with direct qualification into the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup on the line. Each team has earned their right to compete for the opportunity and will no doubt perform their best on the big stage.”

The regional finals in Africa and America are set to take place in the final quarter of the year in September and the Asia regional finals dates and hosts are yet to be announced.

Regional Finals 2023 Schedule:

Europe (2 qualifying teams) 

Dates: 20-28 July 2023
Host: Scotland

Teams: Austria, Denmark, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Jersey, Scotland.

Region: East Asia Pacific (1 qualifying team) 

Dates: 21-29 July 2023
Host: Papua New Guinea

Teams: Japan, Papua New Guinea, Philippines, Vanuatu.

Region: Americas (1 qualifying team) 

Dates: 30 September-7 October 2023
Host: Bermuda

Teams: Bermuda, Canada, Cayman Islands, Panama.

Region: Africa (2 qualifying teams) 

Dates: 20 November – 1 December 2023
Host: Namibia

Teams: Kenya, Namibia, Nigeria, Rwanda, Tanzania, Uganda, Zimbabwe. 

Region: Asia (2 qualifying teams) 

Dates & location: TBA

Teams: Bahrain, Hong Kong, Nepal, Oman, Singapore, United Arab Emirates (UAE), Winner of Sub Regional Qualifier A & Winner of Sub Regional Qualifier B.