Credit: Twitter

Credit: Twitter

India's squad for the three-match T20I series against Ireland has been announced, and it features some surprising choices. Jasprit Bumrah, who has not played international cricket since September 2022 due to a back injury, has been named the captain of the team while Ruturaj Gaikwad, the rising star of the Chennai Super Kings, has been appointed as the vice-captain.

It seems the selectors and coach Rahul Dravid have pinned Ruturaj as a possible future captain of the Indian team, with him being appointed captain at the Asian Games too. The squad also includes some uncapped players like Tilak Varma, Rinku Singh, Jitesh Sharma, Shahbaz Ahmed, Mukesh Kumar, and Avesh Khan.

Full Squad: Jasprit Bumrah (Capt), Ruturaj Gaikwad (vc), Yashasvi Jaiswal, Tilak Varma, Rinku Singh, Sanju Samson (wk), Jitesh Sharma (wk), Shivam Dube, W Sundar, Shahbaz Ahmed, Ravi Bishnoi, Prasidh Krishna, Arshdeep Singh, Mukesh Kumar, Avesh Khan

While the selectors have given a chance to some fresh faces, they have also overlooked some deserving players who could have been part of the team. Here are three players who should have been selected for India’s tour of Ireland 2023:

Sai Sudarshan:

sai The left-handed batsman was the breakout star of the Tamil Nadu Premier League (TNPL) 2021, where he was the second-highest run-getter with 358 runs in eight innings at an average of 71.60 and a strike rate of 143.77. He also impressed in the IPL 2023 for the Gujarat Titans, scoring 362 runs in eight matches at an average of 51.71 and a strike rate of 141.4, including his outstanding knock of 96 in the final. This would have been a great series to give him his debut, as the selectors clearly see him as a huge prospect considering they immediately picked him for the Emerging Teams Asia Cup where he performed well.