Picture Credit: X

Picture Credit: X

After the successful completion of the IPL 2024, cricketing action has shifted to the USA and West Indies for the T20 World Cup 2024. The upcoming event will be the ninth edition of the tournament, and this time, a total of 20 countries will clash against each other for the coveted title. India, 2007 T20 World Cup champions will be led by Rohit Sharma, and the Men in Blue have their eyes set on another T20 World Cup trophy, which will put their decade-long ICC trophy draught to an end.

India had a forgettable outing in the second edition of the T20 World Cup, and the defending champions failed to make it to the playoffs. Let’s have a detailed look at how India performed in the second edition of the cricketing contest. 

India’s Squad for T20 World Cup 2009

MS Dhoni, who led the side to their first T20 World Cup, was again named the captain of the squad, who were set to travel to England and defend the title by competing against 11 other teams. 

The young and dynamic team that participated in the tournament included: 

MS Dhoni (Captain), Yuvraj Singh (Vice Captain), Gautam Gambhir, Dinesh Karthik, Suresh Raina, Rohit Sharma, Virender Sehwag, Ravindra Jadeja, Yusuf Pathan, Irfan Pathan, Harbhajan Singh, Zaheer Khan, Praveen Kumar, Pragyan Ojha, Ishant Sharma, RP Singh

India’s placement and performance

The Men in Blue were placed in Group A alongside Bangladesh and Ireland.

Group Stage: 

India played their first group-stage game at the tournament against Bangladesh and registered a comfortable 25-run win over their counterparts. In their second group-stage fixture, they met Ireland and emerged victorious by eight wickets. By this time, the Men in Blue had already secured their Super 8s spot, and Bangladesh were knocked out of the season. 

Super 8s

India registered their Super 8s quota and were one of the teams along with England, South Africa, West Indies, Ireland, New Zealand, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka. In the Super 8s stage, India were placed in Group E. 

  • India featured against West Indies in the first fixture of the stage, and MS Dhoni and his men couldn’t keep up the momentum. The reigning champions failed miserably by a margin of seven wickets. 
  • On June 14, India were up against the hosts, and they failed to make a comeback as England took them down by a minimal margin of three runs. As a result of this match, India were eliminated from the tournament. 
  • The Indians however, played another game, and this time South Africa were their opponent. India continued their disappointing run and lost the game by 12 runs. 

Pakistan were crowned as the 2009 ICC World Twenty20 champions.