Credit: X

Credit: X

2016 Euro winners  Portugal have announced their 26-player squad for the  UEFA Euro 2024, set to kickstart on June 15 in Germany. Starting the tournament as one the favourites alongside England and France, they have the potential to yield sufficient results this summer and extract some positive take from the multi-national tournament. 

Their last two major events haven’t gone as per their standards with a last 16 exit from the hands of Belgium in the previous Euro, adding to it, the shocking quarter-final exit from the FIFA World Cup in Qatar at the hands of Morocco two years ago. However, much has changed for the Selecao since with Roberto Martinez taking over the reigns from Fernando Santos. 

Portugal announces squad for UEFA Euro 2024

Portugal is clubbed in Group F alongside Czechia, Turkiye, and Georgia with their first encounter against the Czech Republic on June 18. It will be followed by an exciting clash against Turkiye four days later and against Georgia on June 26. 

Portugal’s squad for Euro 2024

Goalkeepers: Diogo Costa, Rui Patricio, Jose Sa

Defenders: Antonio Silva, Danilo Pereira, Diogo Dalot, Goncalo Inacio, Nelson Semedo, Nuno Mendes, Pepe, Ruben Dias, Joao Cancelo 

Mid-fielders: Bruno Fernandes, Joao Neves, Joao Palhinha, Otavio, Ruben Neves, Vitinha

Forward: Bernardo Silva, Diogo Jota, Francisco Conceicao, Goncalo Ramos, Joao Felix, Pedro Neto, Rafael Leao, Cristiano Ronaldo